Anyone charged with a third or subsequent DUI in Colorado is looking at substantial penalties. Fortunately, a proposed 2013 Colorado law making a third or subsequent DUI a felony offense was not passed. A third offense carries up to one year jail (mandatory minimum of 60 days), a fine of up to $1,500, up to 120 hours of community service and at least two years probation. The DMV can suspend driving privileges for two years.
When a client comes into our office he or she will receive straight forward advice about what they are facing and the chances of being acquitted of the DUI charge. We have taken many DUI cases to a jury trial and have had cases dismissed due to procedural error of the police officer. We walk our clients through the process and make sure they understand what they are facing so there are no surprises along the way. We review the evidence the police have obtained to see if any mistakes were made. Many courts have programs designed to help repeat DUI offenders. Our attorney’s are knowledgeable about these programs and can help guide our clients who wish to participate in these programs.
We offer free consultations. If you or a loved one is facing a third or subsequent DUI charge in Boulder, Denver, or anywhere throughout Colorado, call our office at 303-442-2297.