In an effort to promote safe and legal marijuana use, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment has launched an educational campaign outlining laws about possession, use, and the impacts of marijuana on your health.
The 18-month long campaign will include a website, radio ads, print and digital promotions, as well as television and outdoor advertisements, all set to be in place by the end of February. The campaign will focus on informing Coloradans about every facet of the legal use of retail marijuana, including youth prevention.
The campaign will serve as a reminder that it is illegal to use marijuana in public, carry it across the state line, and purchase it for, or share it with, persons under the age of 21. It follows on the heels of the “Don’t Be a Lab Rat” campaign that focused on keeping teens and children from falling victim to the effects of marijuana use.
It continues to be a major concern, according to Governor John Hickenlooper, that the legalization of marijuana will be viewed by young people as a signal that marijuana use is without side effects. However, the consensus among neuro scientists is that once-weekly use of marijuana in young people can have a detrimental effect on long-term memory.
The state feels so strongly about educating the public on responsible marijuana possession and use, it is investing $5.7 million of marijuana tax revenue to get the message out.
Legal Marijuana Possession in Colorado
Although recreational marijuana is legal in Colorado, there are limitations to the law, and plenty of ways you can still get into trouble if you’re caught with pot in Colorado. To use recreational marijuana within the confines of the law, persons over 21:
- May possess up to one ounce of marijuana for recreational use
- May cultivate no more than six marijuana plants
- May give away- without exchanging money- marijuana to other persons 21 years of age and older
- May grow, process, and sell industrial hemp- this is unlike the cannabis grown for the purpose of getting high
The legislation does not legalize the following:
- Possessing, cultivating, or using marijuana if you are under 21 years of age
- The sale of marijuana
- Smoking marijuana in public
Furthermore, this new legislation does not affect the medical marijuana industry. Medical marijuana dispensaries are only for those individuals who have been prescribed marijuana by their physician. Special retailers are available for the purchase of recreational marijuana for those persons aged 21 and over.
First-time offenders found in violation of the recreational marijuana laws can be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor up to a Class 5 felony, serving jail or prison time, and paying fines of up to $100,000. Repeat offenders can expect their sentences to double.
Contact Our Boulder Marijuana Defense Lawyers
If you or someone you love is arrested and charged with a drug-related offense, we can help. Contact the Boulder criminal defense lawyers at Steven Louth Law Offices today for a free consultation and review of your case. Call us at (303) 422-2297 to start building a solid defense against these serious criminal charges.