Teenagers often push the limits and break the rules. Yet when those rules are state and federal laws, children can find themselves in serious legal trouble. If your child was arrested for possession of alcohol, it is important to understand the seriousness of the crime and the penalties your child faces if he or she is convicted.
While the Denver juvenile justice system is more focused on rehabilitation, rather than punishment, it does not mean that your child will escape unpunished. Nothing could be farther from the truth and prosecutors often look to make examples of troubled teens by seeking tougher sentences.
Colorado’s Alcohol Laws and Minors
In the State of Colorado, minors under the age of 21 are not allowed to purchase, consume, or obtain alcohol. Anyone who does can be arrested and charged with possession of alcohol by a minor. The severity of the penalties will depend largely on many factors, including your child’s prior criminal record and whether any other laws were broken in the process.
First Offense Penalties
- Fines up to $250
- Driver’s license suspended for 3 months
Second Offense Penalties
- Fines up to $500
- Driver’s license suspended for 6 months
Third Offense Penalties
- Class 2 misdemeanor
- Fines up to $1000
- Up to 12 months in jail
- Driver’s license suspended for 1 year
In addition to these penalties and consequences, the judge may order your child to complete community service, undergo an alcohol assessment, attend an alcohol treatment program, and more.
Teenagers and minors who were caught in possession of alcohol may also face additional charges, such as disturbing the peace, DUI, or trespassing. When this occurs, your child could be facing much more severe penalties and consequences, including jail time or time in juvenile detention. Without aggressive legal representation, your child could end up with a criminal record.
Contact a Dedicated Boulder Criminal Defense Attorney
Denver criminal defense attorney Steven Louth has successfully represented juveniles who are accused of committing crimes throughout Colorado. The moment you step into his office you are never just a number—you become his number one priority.
If your child has been arrested and charged with a crime in Denver, Boulder, or anywhere in Colorado, call Steven Louth Law Offices at 303-442-2297 today for a free case evaluation. No matter how serious the charges are against your child, there are ways to fight them. Call today!