If you have been charged with a misdemeanor crime, it is important to know how serious these charges truly are. While not as serious as felony offenses, misdemeanor crimes can have a long and devastating affect on your future. In addition, having a misdemeanor crime on your criminal record could make it more likely that you will face enhanced penalties in the future, should you ever be arrested for another crime.
In the State of Colorado, there are three classes of misdemeanor charges:
Class 3 Misdemeanors: A class 3 misdemeanor is the least serious of all misdemeanor charges and is punishable by:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Fines up to $750
Class 2 Misdemeanors: A class 2 misdemeanor is more serious than a class 3 misdemeanor and is punishable by:
- Between 3 and 12 months in jail
- Fines up to $1000
Class 1 Misdemeanors: A class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious type of misdemeanor and is punishable by:
- Between 6 and 18 months in jail
- Fines up to $5000
Other Information Regarding Colorado Misdemeanor Charges
If you are convicted of more than one misdemeanor, the judge may order consecutive sentences, or may allow jail time for the offenses to be served at the same time. Multiple charges definitely require an experienced Colorado criminal defense attorney in order to secure the shortest amount of time served.
Unlike some other states, Colorado does not allow expungement, however a petition can be submitted which requests a permanent seal on the records. If the petition is granted, the crime or arrest essentially never took place, and the police must abide by this court decision. There are, however, restrictions on petitioning for a permanent record seal.
The records may only be sealed if you were found not guilty, if your case was dismissed prior to your trial, or if you received a deferred sentence and complied with all terms. If you are found guilty of the misdemeanor offense, or pled guilty, records cannot be sealed. Domestic violence records cannot be sealed, and, in some cases, a deferred sentence may not be able to be sealed, depending on the judge.
Contact Our Boulder Criminal Defense Lawyers
You may not think misdemeanor charges are particularly serious, however it is extremely important you not make the mistake of neglecting to hire a knowledgeable Boulder criminal defense attorney. Your future is at stake, and your attorney can ensure your rights are properly protected, exploring every defense possible on your behalf. Contact the Boulder criminal defense lawyers at Steven Louth Law Offices today for a free consultation and review of your case. Call us at (303) 422-2297 to start building a solid defense against these serious criminal charges.