Understanding the Colorado Criminal Penalties for DUI Offenses

Published: December 9, 2015 в 7:25 pm


Highway Patrol Police Car Next to Alcoholic Drink and Keys Under Spot Light | Colorado Criminal Penalties for DUI OffensesIf you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, it is important to understand how serious Colorado criminal penalties for DUI offenses truly are. Many drivers mistakenly think that the worst penalty is the loss of their license – but that is far from the truth. In some cases, a DUI conviction could result in significant jail time.

A Colorado DUI is triggered by a .08 percent or higher BAC, while a Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) is triggered by a .05 percent BAC or higher, but less than a .08 percent. For a first offense DUI, you could face up to a year in jail, up to a $1,000 fine and a nine months’ license suspension. For a first time DWAI, you could face up to 180 days in jail and up to a $500 fine. For a second offense DUI or DWAI, you could face up to one year in jail, up to a $1,500 fine, a one-year license suspension and the necessity of having an ignition interlock device placed on your vehicle. For a third offense DUI you could face up to a year in jail, up to a $1,500 fine, a license suspension of two years and a mandatory ignition interlock device. A third offense DWAI carries the same penalties, however the maximum fine is $1,000 rather than $1,500.

There is no “lookback” period in Colorado—all prior DWAI/DUIs are relevant as far as sentencing and penalty purposes. Refusing a chemical test in Colorado can result in one-year revocation of your license for a first offense, a two-year revocation for your second offense and a three-year revocation for your third offense.  A first offense DUI in the state can result in a three-month or longer suspension and adds twelve points to your driver’s license. As you can see, being charged with a Colorado DUI is extremely serious, and should be taken seriously. Ensure that a Colorado DUI attorney handles your DUI charges, and one who has a solid background defending DUI charges, as well as knowledge of the scientific, procedural, and evidentiary considerations.

Further Reading: Denver Crime Rate Skyrockets after 2014 Opening of Retail Pot Stores

Not only will you face criminal penalties, you will also face a variety of other penalties, including skyrocketing auto insurance rates and a criminal conviction, which can be seen by future employers. In short, a DUI conviction can hinder your ability to obtain employment, obtain a government student loan, obtain a professional license, and even own a firearm. The goal of an experienced Colorado DUI attorney is to keep your record clean, prevent you from losing your freedom, and allow you to retain your driver’s license.

Contact Our Experienced Boulder DUI Defense Lawyers

Boulder DUI Defense LawyersIf you or someone you love has been arrested and charged with a DUI Offense in Colorado, it is critical that you speak to one of our experienced Boulder DUI Defense lawyers immediately. Contact the Boulder criminal defense lawyers at Steven Louth Law Offices today for a free consultation and review of your case. Call us at (303) 422-2297 to start building a solid defense against these serious criminal charges.



contact us

Time is of the essence. Don’t answer another question without your attorney.
24/7 Confidential Contact Form