It is a phone call no parent wants to receive: that his or her child has been arrested for DUI. At first, you may be furious and angry that your child disobeyed you and put his or her life in jeopardy. However, this anger quickly gives way to fear, when you realize that your child’s future may now be tainted. You may be concerned about your child spending time in jail or worried about how this will affect his or her life. When your child is arrested for DUI, it is only natural to have many questions running through your mind during this stressful time. That’s why it is imperative that you speak to an experienced Boulder Juvenile DUI defense attorney immediately. Your attorney will be able to answer your questions and help you review all of your legal options.
Penalties Your Child May Face
DUI penalties in Colorado can be severe and can make it difficult for your child to retain employment and even attend classes. Colorado has a strict ZERO tolerance policy for anyone under the age of 21. This means that your child does not have to have a BAC over the legal limit to be arrested for DUI. For first time offenders, your child will face the following penalties:
· Up to 1 year in jail
· Up to a 1 year driver’s license suspension
· Community Service
Protecting Your Child’s Future
Finding the best solution to your child’s Colorado DUI charges can be extremely frustrating. Since it is unlikely your child fully realizes the impact these actions can have on his or her future, it is up to you, as the parent, to ensure that future is protected to the extent possible. The sooner you acquire experienced legal representation, the greater likelihood of a positive outcome. You need an attorney who recognizes that one moment of poor judgment or one bad decision should not be allowed to alter the entire course of your child’s life. The vast majority of juvenile DUI offenders are not repeat offenders and they deserve a second chance. You should definitely not allow your child to be pressured into pleading guilty to a juvenile offense. Your Boulder juvenile DUI attorney will work aggressively to preserve your child’s record with a goal of minimal long-term effects.
Read More: Underage DUI: What Parents Can Expect
If your child is facing DUI charges with potential enhancements in the state of Colorado, having an experienced DUI criminal defense attorney by your family’s side can make all the difference. In many cases, a knowledgeable DUI attorney can even get enhancement penalties dropped.
If your child’s driver’s license is in jeopardy, fighting DUI charges is a very time-sensitive matter. You have only seven days after your child receives his or her DUI citation in which to request a DMV hearing, or your child’s license will be permanently suspended for as long as a year. A skilled Boulder DUI attorney will work to minimize the consequences of your child’s DUI charges, particularly if enhancements are possible.
Contact Our Boulder Juvenile DUI Defense Lawyers
Your child deserves a second chance – and an experienced Boulder DUI defense attorney can help them achieve it. Contact the Boulder juvenile criminal defense lawyers at Steven Louth Law Offices today for a free consultation and review of your case. Call us at (303) 422-2297 to start building a solid defense against these serious criminal charges.