A crackdown on DUIs in Colorado has begun. Starting Memorial Day weekend and for the next 100 days, the Colorado Highway Patrol and local police officials will be performing numerous DUIs across the state. When drivers arrive at these designated checkpoints, troopers will be asking a few questions before letting them pass. If they fail to answer these questions appropriately, further DUI testing may be required.
Over Memorial Day weekend alone, Colorado Police Departments arrested 19 people for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. As the weather gets warmer and the summer continues, Colorado State troopers expect this number to rise.
There are numerous programs in the Colorado area that can help summer partygoers stay safe and avoid DUIs in the process. CDOT has even partnered with ride-sharing services, such as Lyft and Uber to give intoxicated drivers a break. If you use the code “CDOTRideSafe” when using Lyft, you will get a $20 credit on your first ride. If you use the code “NODUICO” when using Uber, you will receive $20 off of your first ride.
Sobering Colorado DUI Statistics
Colorado drivers do not always drive safely – in fact, many continue to drive under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
· In 2012 alone, drunk driving fatalities represented more than 28% of all traffic deaths
· Over 25,000 drivers were arrested for DUI in 2012
· In 2012, more than 7,300 drivers refused to submit to DUI testing
· 32.8% of underage Colorado teenage drivers have used alcohol in the past month
Further Reading: The Phone Call: When Your Child is Arrested for DUI
A DUI can cause significant damage to your personal and professional life, in addition to causing financial hardship. If you are convicted of DUI in Colorado, you will lose your driver’s license for at least 3 months – if not longer. You may also be required to use an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, especially if your BAC results were significantly above the legal limit.
In Colorado, a first offense DUI could result in a penalty of 5 days incarceration – with a maximum of 1 year in jail. Your attorney may be able to have the jail time suspended if you agree to attend a treatment program. If your BAC results were greater than .20%, however, then jail time may be mandatory.
Contact Our Boulder DUI Defense Lawyers
If you have been arrested for DUI in Boulder, it is important to speak to an experienced DUI defense attorney immediately following your arrest. Contact the Boulder DUI defense lawyers at Steven Louth Law Offices today for a free consultation and review of your case. Call us at (303) 422-2297 to start building a solid defense against these serious criminal charges.