In the state of Colorado, it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon without a permit. Colorado concealed weapon permits are issued by the county sheriff and are valid for five years. Prior to obtaining a permit, all applicants must demonstrate complete competence with a handgun. Once the permit is obtained, individuals are then allowed to carry concealed weapons wherever they are allowed, however, this excludes schools, buildings with security checkpoints, and federal properties.
Anyone in Colorado is allowed to openly carry a gun without a license. However, local governments are allowed to limit this usage in areas that are under their jurisdiction. Denver, however, bans open carry in all areas of the city and county.
If you are caught carrying a concealed weapon without a permit, such as a knife or a firearm, you may face serious penalties and consequences. Some of those include:
- Class 2 misdemeanor
- Fines up to $1000
- Up to a year in jail
- Class 5 felony
- Fines up to $100,000
- Three years in prison
What is a “Concealed” Weapon?
In order for a weapon to be concealed, it must be visibly out of sight. If a weapon is partially concealed, by a holster for example, then it would not be considered a concealed weapon. It is important to know, however, that a concealed weapon doesn’t have to be on your person. It simply has to be out of sight and within easy reach. If you have a gun stashed under the seat of your car, for example, then it would still be considered a concealed weapon.
Colorado’s concealed weapon law applies to all firearms even ones that are not operable, as well as knives with blades longer than 3 ½ in. It also includes explosives, metallic knuckles, billy clubs, and gas guns.
Contact Our Boulder Criminal Defense Lawyers
If you or someone you love has been arrested and charged with carrying a concealed weapon, they may face serious penalties that could adversely affect their entire life. You may also be facing additional charges, such as assault or possession of an illegal weapon. When this occurs, you need an experienced and skilled Boulder criminal defense lawyer on your side from the very start. Contact the Boulder criminal defense lawyers at Steven Louth Law Offices today for a free consultation and review of your case. Call us at (303) 422-2297 to start building a solid defense against these serious criminal charges.